Congratulations to the 2017 Tectonophysics Honorees!

Posted 11/28/17 by jolante in News

The following people with primary affiliations in Tectonophysics have been elected as 2017 AGU Fellows:

  • Wang-Ping Chen, USA
  • Peter G. DeCelles, USA
  • Claudio Faccenna, Italy
  • Louis Moresi, USA
  • Steven Roecker, USA
  • Paul J. Tackley, USA


Romain Jolivet (École Normale Supérieure, Paris) has been awarded the Tectonophysics Section’s 2017 Jason Morgan Early Career Award.  This award recognizes scientists within six years post-Ph.D. or equivalent, who have demonstrated outstanding and significant early career contributions to Tectonophysics through a combination of research, education, and outreach activities.  The award will be presented at the 2017 Fall Meeting immediately preceding the Birch Lecture.


David Mainprice (University of Montpellier, France) is the winner of the 2017 Paul G. Silver Award for Outstanding Scientific Service. The award presentation will be immediately preceding the Birch Lecture, on Wednesday December 13, 4:00 pm.