Congratulations to the 2016 Tectonophysics Honorees!

Posted 11/07/16 by morganj in News

Whitney Behr (University of Texas, Austin) has been awarded the Tectonophysics Section’s 2016 Jason Morgan Early Career Award.  This award recognizes scientists within six years post-Ph.D. or equivalent, who have demonstrated outstanding and significant early career contributions to tectonophysics through a combination of research, education, and outreach activities.  The award will be presented at the 2015 Fall Meeting immediately preceding the Birch Lecture.  Thank you to this year’s Morgan Award Committee: Tim Stern (Chair), Susan Baldwin, Anne Davaille, Eric Kirby, and Kelin Wang.

Rob Reilinger (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) is the winner of the 2016 Paul G. Silver Award for Outstanding Scientific Service.  This award is given jointly by the Seismology, Geodesy and Tectonophysics Sections to a member who has excelled in mentoring of junior colleagues, leadership of community research initiatives, or other forms of unselfish collaboration in research. The time and location of the award presentation at the Fall Meeting will be announced.

The following people with primary affiliations in Tectonophysics have been elected as 2016 AGU Fellows:

  • Steven Constable, USA
  • Uri ten Brink, USA
  • Andrea Tommasi, France
  • Kelin Wang, Canada
  • Bob White, United Kingdom
  • Sean Willett, Switzerland